Say, CJ, didn't we have a fountain pen thread?

Discussion in 'Everyday Carry (EDC)' started by claud, Dec 24, 2017.

1. claud

claud Well-Known Member Donor

I seem to remember you had an interest, but I searched this forum back to 2014 and , nothing. Are you still in to it? My boss/friend is and he has given me two over the years. I have been using one of them for three years and decided to get something better, so I joined a drop on Massdrop for a Bexley. It is much smoother. Then my boss let me try his Pelikan 800 that had been tuned. Wow!!

2. Carl V

Carl V Well-Known Member Donor Top Poster

tuned...like how

sounds interesting
    do you have a photos
    of these works of art

3. claud

There are people in the US and other places that will polish, grind and smooth out your nib and flush out your pen for less than $100.00 There are also these services available at pen shows. I will post a pic of my Bexley sometime today or tomorrow.
    My boss/friend gave me the items needed to maintain a fountain pen as a Christmas present. Since I itemize my expenses, I realized this hobby is also a tax deduction for office supplies.I have three other pens coming that i have paid for here at the end of 2017.

4. Phil A

Phil A Well-Known Member Top Poster

Here's a video on one model -

5. claud

Pelikan makes the best pens. They make their own nibs by hand.
    My Bexley Prometheus is a big pen at 5.6 inches long.
    fullsizeoutput_ab7.jpeg fullsizeoutput_ab9.jpeg

6. claud

Thanks Phil A. That is what I meant by tuning. Worth every penny for a smooth writing fountain pen.

7. CJ

CJ Bronze Member Admin Top Poster