1. Create an account to join in the discussion. Once you register don't forget to enter our monthly drawings.

Register to post on our forum.
  2. Home Theater Lounge will begin holding a live chat every Wednesday evening at 9pm Central. The goal is to get as many members online at the same time and just talk movies, music, and gear. You can join the chat by going to the Shoutbox app.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

Crashplan for Home Shutting Down

Discussion in 'Smartphones, Computers, Gaming and Networking' started by DustinDavis, Aug 22, 2017.

1. DustinDavis

DustinDavis Well-Known Member War Zone Member

Dang it. I've been using Crashplan for many years now. But I got an email today saying they are getting out of personal backup to focus on small business and enterprise. I assume this will get more expensive at some point. Wonder if anyone else has good experience with another provider?

2. CJ

CJ Well-Known Member Admin War Zone Member

Top Poster Of Month

I'm scrambling to assemble my options. I kinda get it and I'm probably the kind of customer that's driving this decision. I have over 7TB of data backed up with them. My problem is multi-faceted.

1. I have a family plan right now which means I only pay $150 a year for 5 computers. If I migrate over to the small business side that will become $600 a year.
    2. My media server is the one with 7TB. Their migration path only allows for backup sets under 5TB to be migrated. Not that they'll migrate 5TB... they'll only migrate sets under 5TB. If you're over they delete everything and you have to start from scratch.
    3. Because of #2, I could be getting a $1,000 bill from COX. My original backup to Crashplan (which was much smaller) took something like 3 months. I'd exceed my data cap by double for multiple months if I started from scratch